Chiara Mascolo

Chiara Mascolo

Graduated in Materials Engineering and Nanotechnology, Polytechnic University of Milan. Graduated in Materials Science, ETH Zurich (Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich).

Participate in:

ELLE Active! 2022 - Values and Jobs
Questions to understand the present and design the future
Donne&Tech® Young Ambassadors
Curriculum

Graduated in Materials Engineering and Nanotechnologies, Polytechnic University of Milan
Graduated in Materials Science, ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich) I am a Materials Engineer, passionate about innovation and sustainability.

My personal and professional training paths have always been guided by my innate curiosity and the search for new opportunities. I strongly believe that in order to grow and improve, one must step out of their comfort zone.

My curiosity about the world around me led me to deepen my knowledge of everyday objects and pursue a bachelor's degree in Materials and Nanotechnology Engineering at the Polytechnic University of Milan. My studies focused on polymeric and composite materials, particularly on innovative production techniques such as 3D printing. Subsequently, I enrolled in the Master's program in Materials Science at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH Zurich), as I wanted to explore other educational and research environments beyond Italy. During this experience, I was able to delve into concepts such as the sustainability of polymers and composites, as well as their respective production and recycling processes.

I currently work as a Research and Development Engineer (Lead Materials Engineer) at NematX AG, a startup partner of ETH Zurich specializing in 3D printing of high-performance polymer materials, particularly liquid crystal polymers. My role involves developing new high-performance materials to meet the requirements of various industries ranging from aerospace to medical.

I spend most of my free time outdoors, doing sports (I am passionate about swimming, sailing, and skiing) and traveling. I have been playing the piano since the age of four and I try to develop my creativity through painting.

Airplane
Subscribe to our newsletter.

Sign up to receive updates about our activities in your inbox.

"Sign up now"